In the Round: The Gift

Hello, friends. For the second time on our slice of the Internet, we welcome a guest blogger. I know that Advent has passed us and is already a swiftly dissolving speck in the distance. But perhaps, as the new year gathers speed and our weeks cycle on, we would be strengthened by remembering what we celebrated less than a month ago. This post was written as one of many pieces in a church’s Advent devotional guide for this past season, and it’s author has graciously allowed me to post it. So, please welcome, as the next In the Round guest blogger, Jim Pinson–my dad:

1548049_10202723979291209_1463623162_o

“Let this be recorded for a generation to come, so that a people yet to be created may praise the LORD: that he looked down from his holy height; from heaven the LORD looked at the earth, to hear the groans of the prisoners, to set free those who were doomed to die…”

– Psalm 102:18-20

I sometimes find myself surrounded in this hectic world by all kinds of disconcerting news, both near and far, with barbarians waiting at the gates and no cavalry coming over the horizon to save the day.

But as I read these verses in this time of Advent, I am reminded of the eternal power of God, and that all things are possible through Him. That centuries ago, He put in motion a chain of events that would change the course of our lives in that little place called Bethlehem.

The gift of the Son on a prearranged journey, a journey that would give us our strength and our Redeemer, able to calm our greatest fears and worries. A Son that offers us that greatest promise, the gift of eternal life. If only we would stop and listen for His voice.

So in the early morning, in those magic hours between waking and dawn, I’ll often go out on my deck that overlooks the valley, and I’ll sit in the old rocker that belonged to my grandparents, and I’ll rock. And I’ll listen. And I’ll stare in wonder at the night sky and the stars, and feel my smallness. And pretty soon, as the first rays of the sun appear over the horizon, I feel my soul relax, and I smile. Because I know again that He is with me, and with Him comes hope, and grace, and forgiveness for all the stupid things I think and do. But most of all, in the quietness of the moment, I find the peace that Christ brings me, if only for this day. And I know in that moment, that all is well with my soul.

 Thank you for your blessing, and for this time of year, where we celebrate the birth that forever changed our lives. Help us remember where all our answers are, that they are with you, in all that we do.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

