Adopted.

A Korean orphan boy adopted by a motor pool battalion at Inchon, Korea and nursed back to health HD-SN-99-03143

“But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of a woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, ‘Abba! Father!’ So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.”- Galatians 4:4-7

Closing the Distance.
His people were estranged, separated. The distance was incalculable, unable to be bridged by any mere human. Because of our selfishness and pride, we refused our Father, chose our own way, and attempted insurrection, only to be given over to slavery, death, and darkness. And yet our Father has closed the distance. “In the fullness of time,” he sent His Son. From the glorious realms of heaven to the darkness and despair of earth, He came on an unexpected night. The preexistent Christ was born into the womb of a young girl. Jesus was born subject to the Law. He knows the difficulty of keeping it. He knows our temptations, our struggles. He was subject to the Law, to obey it, to keep it. He kept it for His people. He kept it to give His record away to His people, to credit it to their accounts because they need a perfect righteousness. He kept it to be blameless. He kept it to present Himself as a spotless lamb to the slaughter, subject to the wrath of God on behalf of His wandering people.
The Great Lengths.
He went through these great lengths, these leaps and bounds, to buy back His people, to purchase them. To redeem them. By completing the Law for us, he fulfills our obligation, and then substitutes Himself for us as a sacrifice. So we could be forgiven.
All going to be o.k.
Adopted. We are brought back, purchased by The Son. From His enemies to His children, from His haters to His brothers. From outsiders to insiders. We are adored and given worth, adopted into God’s family by the work of the Son. And not simply adopted, but given the Third Person of the Trinity to seal us. He indwells us, securing us. We can now, because of our beautiful status, ask for anything. Beg for anything. Trust Him like we would trust a father. Because He is our Father. The adoption is real. Our status has been changed! We can now cry out to our Father boldly!
Help me to do my devotions in the morning
Help me not to put my identity in what others think about me
Help to me love people and not hate them
Help me to love my enemies
Help me to love my parents, to love my brothers and sisters
Help me to treasure You and not trash
It’s all going to be truly o.k. We, His people, are forgiven, safe, and adopted.
A glorious future.
His people are heirs and will receive all they have waited for when the time comes.
They will live forever, reigning and ruling with Christ. In that place there will be no more pain, no more suffering, no more sin. We will inherit the very Kingdom, safe in our Father’s arms.

I’m not an orphan anymore, I’m yours
I stand before you now adored, I’m yours
Your cross has set me free
New life belongs to me
I’m not an orphan anymore I’m yours
You took my guilt and shame
Gave me a brand new name
You call me your beloved
I call you Abba father
I’m not an orphan anymore, I’m yours- Ronnie Freeman

Leave a Reply

