David and Goliath for Cowards

Fugel David gegen Goliath

“He stood and shouted to the ranks of Israel, ‘Why have you come out to draw up for battle? Am I not a Philistine, and are you not servants of Saul? Choose a man for yourselves, and let him come down to me. If he is able to fight with me and kill me, then we will be your servants. But if I prevail against him and kill him, then you shall be our servants and serve us.’ And the Philistine said, ‘I defy the ranks of Israel this day. Give me a man, that we may fight together.’ When Saul and all Israel heard these words of the Philistine, they were dismayed and greatly afraid. Now David was the son of an Ephrathite in Bethlehem of Judah, named Jesse, who had eight sons.”- 1 Samuel 17:8-12.

Just be like David? But i’m a fearful coward!
It is easy for us to preach simple morality. It is life giving to preach Christ.

Simple Morality: You have big giants to face in your life.
Christianity: There is an overwhelming giant in your life, including sin and all evil.
Simple Morality: Step out, have courage, and face your giants.
Christianity: We have cowered in front of our enemies and giants and have willingly submitted under their dominion and rule. We are like Saul and all of the people who are untrusting of God and cowards, slaves, and controlled by fear naturally.
Simple Morality: Though the odds are stacked against you, be like David and face your giants. If you just face up to them and have enough strength and courage, they will fall before you as Goliath fell before David.
Christianity: There is a representative for us that has stepped out from among the human race to fight for His people. As David, the Bethlehemite shepherd from the tribe of Judah, represented the cowardly, untrusting Israelite people, the greater Bethlehemite Shepherd from the tribe of Judah, the greater Descendent of Jesse who was both God and man, has represented us, God’s faithless, untrusting, and cowardly people and faced our giants for us. He has utterly destroyed sin, Satan, and all evil, as David utterly destroyed Goliath. Jesus did not do this by the expected means, as David did not kill Goliath with the expected armor and weapons. Christ has triumphed over all evil by His death, the most unlikely of weapons. Because Christ has triumphed over all our enemies, we can face up to them; for “If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31).

There are so many more nuances to look at it, and telling myself the right thing to do isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But telling myself to simply do the right thing, or act a certain way, in a situation doesn’t account for the struggle i face with doing the right thing. I need Jesus! I need to see how He has gone before me, has won for me, has secured me! Then i can step out. Do not ask me to move without first showing me not simply the example of Jesus, but the power of Jesus working through His life, death, and resurrection. Are our Sunday school lessons promoting simple morality, or are they promoting the treasuring and savoring of all that Jesus is and has done for His people?

David and Goliath was written for fearful cowards like me. This story shows me that i do not have to rest in my own strength to fight my own battles, but that Christ has fought and won my battle for me. By trusting in Him, i gain victory over all things, and His victory and strength give me the courage and motivation to do what i could not have done before, namely persevere in the face of my sin, in the face of all sin, in the face of my own evil, and in the face of all evil. He has faced them all, and He reigns supreme.

Leave a Reply

